City of Tshwane Metropolitan Municipality main banner image

City of Tshwane Metropolitan Municipality

Pretoria Central, Pretoria Central Western - Region 3, Gauteng

Local Government

Tshwane House
320 Madiba Street
Pretoria Central
Pretoria Central Western - Region 3
City of Tshwane
Contact Number
012 358 9999
Contact Number
080 111 1556
Fax Number
012 358 4896
[email protected]

Social Media

COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal

City of Tshwane Metropolitan Municipality

The City of Tshwane Metropolitan Municipality (also known as the City of Tshwane) is the metropolitan municipality that forms the local government of northern Gauteng Province, South Africa. The Metropolitan area is centred on the city of Pretoria with surrounding towns and localities included into the local government area. 

The City of Tshwane Metropolitan Municipality is a Category A municipality situated in the Gauteng Province. It merged with the Metsweding District, which was a consequence of the Gauteng Global City Region Strategy to reduce the number of municipalities in Gauteng to at least four by 2016. The City of Tshwane is the single-largest metropolitan municipality in the country, comprising seven regions, 105 wards and 210 councillors.

Pretoria is the capital of South Africa. It has the second-largest number of embassies in the world after Washington DC. Many embassies thus call this city their home. The Union Buildings house the administrative hub of the country and have also been the setting for the presidential inaugurations of Nelson Mandela, Thabo Mbeki, Jacob Zuma and the incumbent South African president, Cyril Ramaphosa. These sandstone buildings offer beautiful views over the City.

Its rich and colourful heritage is reflected in the City's myriad of museums, monuments and historical buildings, and is punctuated by contemporary arts and crafts markets, bringing the City alive with a unique blend of new and old. The Science and Technology Museum offers a tactile experience of science at work. The South African mint has a minting press dating back to 1892 that is still in operation. The City also offers township sleepovers with a five-star stay. Church Square and the State Theatre often host international and national performances. There are also two nature reserves where visitors can view wildlife such as buffalo, antelope, cheetah, jackal, giraffe and sable.

Cities/Towns: Akasia, Atteridgeville, Bronkhorstspruit, Centurion, Cullinan, Ekangala, Ga-Rankuwa, Garsfontein, Hammanskraal, Irene, Kudube, Mabopane, Mamelodi, Pretoria, Pretoria North, Rayton, Refilwe, Roodeplaat, Soshanguve, Temba, Winterveldt.


Monday to Friday: 07:45 - 15:15
Saturday: Closed
Sunday: Closed

Our call centre agents are available to assist you on a 24-hour basis.

Ward Councillor - Tshwane Ward 50

View Profile
Visits: 1934